“Weird Al” Annouces Track List for His Final Album MANDATORY FUN

“Weird Al” Yankovic’s next album Mandatory Fun — his first since 2011’s Alpocalypse — arrives on July 15th from RCA, right smack dab in the middle of the summer, where it’s guaranteed to chase the long, hot dog days away. But Mandatory Fun could also be his final studio album. The comic songwriter posted on his blog last year that, since the album is his last under his current record contract, he’s “weighing his options.” All of which is to say that he may just move to digitally distributing his work himself and continue to fill us with joy and happiness in a slightly different way. In any case, Al has unveiled the full list of tracks on Mandatory Fun, but not the songs these tracks will be parodying, prompting his many fans to formulate a multitude of theories.

Weird Al

Stereogum has already shared a few more-than-likely ideas. As the website points out, the expected Iggy Azalea parody “has to be” ‘Handy.’ While ‘Foil’ must be his send-up of Lorde’s ‘Royals’ (of which, to be fair, Yahoo’s Sketchy already did a fair parody in ‘White Girls’), “Word Crimes” Robyn Thick’s ‘Blurred Lines,’ and ‘Tacky’ Pharrell’s ‘Happy.'” I myself really don’t care which songs “Weird Al” parodies as long as the end result is as funny as Yankovic classics like “The Night Santa Went Crazy” and the anthemic “White and Nerdy.” One thing’s for certain — with the number of music videos Al has planned (eight, debuting one per day starting on July 14th), he’s as confident as ever in his work.

After checking out the full track list for Mandatory Fun below, let us know what you think the Clown Prince of Pop has in store for us.

01 “Handy”
02 “Lame Claim To Fame”
03 “Foil”
04 “Sports Song”
05 “Word Crimes”
06 “My Own Eyes”
07 “NOW That’s What I Call Polka!”
08 “Mission Statement”
09 “Inactive”
10 “First World Problems”
11 “Tacky”
12 “Jackson Park Express”

Tags , , , , , , , ,