Menu

SAILOR MOON Anime Is Reborn, Returns This Summer

After 22 years since its original run, Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon is back. Titled Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon Crystal by creator Naoko Takeuchi, the new animated series is not a remake of the original anime, but an adaptation that’s more true to the Sailor Moon manga (think Full Metal Alchemist and Full Metal Alchemist Brotherhood).

If that isn’t enough of a treat for you, Sailor Moon’s original voice actress, Kotono Mitsuishi, is reprising her iconic role, while the rest of the cast will be filled out by senshi-newcomers. Mercury will be played by Hisako Kanemoto, Mars by Rina Satou, Jupiter by Ami Koshimizu, and Venus by Sizuka Itou.

Get ready to be as ecstatic as Usagi gets when she sees food. The first episode will air simultaneously worldwide via NicoNicoDouga on Saturday, July 5 at 7 PM Japan time (the same time as the original series run). If you don’t want to do the math, that’s 6 AM EDT and 3 AM PDT July 5th (UTC 10:00). While subsequent episodes will air at the same time every first and third Saturdays of every month, it’s still unknown whether we’ll see the series on TV.

You can take a look at the designs of the inner senshi below. The character re-designs are more in line with the original manga, while still incorporating the familiar look of the ’90s animated series. Sadly, no images have surfaced of everyone’s favorite talking cat, Luna.

Thrilled that Sailor Moon is yet again reborn? Show us your excitement in the comments below.

HT: Anime News Network

Tags , ,

67 comments